5 Tips to Avoid Burning Out

burned-outAng batang masipag, pag laki… pagod. – Ai Ai de las Alas (Filipino comedienne)

Translation: A hardworking child grows up to be… a haggard adult.

I came across this hilarious quote a few days ago. It’s true, isn’t it? Hardworking kids do get burnt out. They lose all enthusiasm for work and sometimes even for life. But no matter what your age, too much stress will take all the fun out of the things you once loved to do. It’ll make you look older than you actually are, and it can eventually kill you. You may still be on holiday right now, but you know all that unfinished work’s going to catch up with you by next week. These 5 easy tips can help you avoid burning out.

1) Exercise

The next time you start feeling overwhelmed by all the work you have to do, take a break and walk around for 5 minutes. The more you exercise, the more energy you have and the more endorphins (“happy hormones”) your body produces. You can substitute walking with stretching, lifting weights (like your paperweight), or yoga. 

 

2) Reschedule

Writing to-do lists is enjoyable for the workaholics I know. Why not make it easier for yourself by using these free time management tools? 

remember-the-milk

You can check out Mashable’s 100+ More Ways to Organize Your Life for more time management tools.

 

3) Delegate

Some people burn out because they’re perfectionists who believe only they can get the job done right. But honestly, is a misplaced comma here and there worth a sleepless night spent doing a group report all by yourself?

 

4) Sleep

This is one of the most important things people can do to avoid burn out.  There’s just no substitute for it. 

 

5) Disconnect 

Limit the amount of time you spend answering emails, calls and texts, then stick to those limits. You may think that being available to others 24/7 is a good quality to have, but it can take a serious toll on your well-being. Anyone who expects you to be available all the time is unrealistic and unreasonable.

Just say no.

Just say no.

For example, you can promise yourself you won’t answer emails beyond 7 pm. You can also turn off your cellphone before you go to bed so you don’t get woken up in the middle of the night by unimportant texts. 

Follow these tips, and you’ll be able to meet the challenges of the new year with a refreshed and enthusiastic attitude.

6 Responses to “5 Tips to Avoid Burning Out”


  1. 1 Paul Pisig December 31, 2008 at 1:00 pm

    1) I plan to walk my dog first thing in the morning before work.
    2) I already bought a planner that will keep me on schedule (Charing! Haha). I bought one, really.
    3) I am building my team within 1st Quarter of 2009 to assist me on executing my “Master Plan.”
    4) Sleep? Uhm, okay. Fine!🙂
    5) No answering of e-mails for me after 7 PM.

    Thank you for the tips. 3 hours from now and HELLO 2009, FAREWELL ’08!

    Happy New Year!

  2. 2 Writista December 31, 2008 at 2:11 pm

    Yeah, those all sound like great ideas. But… what’s your master plan? :p

    Happy new year!

  3. 3 Paul Pisig December 31, 2008 at 4:51 pm

    My Master Plan: Become VERY RICH this 2009!🙂

    I want to do many things. I want to be complete. (Toink!)

    Kidding aside, I want to take care of my nephew. I think he’s sick and I want him to have a general physical exam by February at St. Luke’s Hospital. He is nose-bleeding frequently. I am not bragging but I am the only person who can provide for my family members. I don’t know. I’m writing this comment at 12:45 AM, January 1st. I don’t want to be sad but I can’t help it. I mean, I’m already earning good money online but not good enough. So yeah, the pressure is on me. Sigh. I apologize if I shared how I am feeling. I’m such a BIG loser when it comes to friends.

    Anyway, I am fine. I can overcome all these. I am smart. Cheers to a prosperous New Year!🙂

  4. 4 Writista January 1, 2009 at 4:20 am

    That’s right, you should always stay positive, especially as you’re the breadwinner. I hope your nephew isn’t suffering from anything serious. Happy new year again.🙂

  5. 5 euxhv wrbt3 May 11, 2009 at 7:31 pm

    Hi There, I found your website on Altsviatsa, does it support Firefox?

  6. 6 sameday-flowers.co.uk July 6, 2014 at 1:23 am

    Hi, all is going sound heree and ofcourse every one is sharing information, that’s actually excellent, keep up writing.


Leave a Reply

